When To Let Go

As I sit here working through proofreading my manuscript, and still making endless edits as I go along, I find myself wondering, at what point do we finally have to force ourselves to let go?

I am without a doubt my own worst critic.  Of course this book has passed through several different incarnations, each of which has been read through and received constructive criticism from various readers.  I have rewritten, I have edited, and I should now be at the point where I am only proofreading.

Yet still I nitpick, constantly.

Is this the curse of self publishing a book as an eBook?  That fear that if you let it go out into the ether and it’s not really ready, everyone will just laugh at you?  What on earth was she thinking?

I think the answer is though; the time comes when we just have to take a step back, take a deep breath, and finally take that leap of faith.  We have to say “enough is enough, there’s nothing more I can do.”

I have a list of things I have to complete for this book pinned up on my office wall (I make lists for everything), and the very last bullet point on that list reads: hope.

That’s all you can do once you let go, hope.

Leave a Reply

