Patience and Lollipops

I’ve finally finished my proof reading and my edits.  So I can rest now, yes?  There is a light at the end of the tunnel.

The only problem is I haven’t really finished at all.  Now I have to type up all those edits into the manuscript – I’m one of those people who have to write with pen and paper, I look at what I’ve typed on the screen and see “fndjvbdjslvbdjslvbjdlvbdjlbvjdlvbdlw”.  When that is done I have to complete my cover design which is only partially complete, write my book description, format the manuscript for conversion, convert the manuscript, check for formatting errors, then I can start to think that it might be ready for publication.

No lollipops for me yet then.

People keep saying to me “So you’re nearly done then, it’s going to be up for sale in the next few days, why are you stalling for time?”

What they don’t see is what goes into self publishing a book after you finish writing the book, especially when it’s your first one.  You are so aware that if you rush anything you will inevitably fall flat on your face, and that just adds to the terror that you’re feeling at the thought of clicking on that publish button.

So patience will be my friend.  Patience is a virtue.

I must be virtuous.

Then I can have a lollipop.

2 responses to “Patience and Lollipops

  1. Yes! Indies have to do everything, and it really feels overwhelming! When I get upset just from having to do promotional things I hate, I’ve had people say, “well *so-and-so famous author* had to do that” – no they didn’t! 1. they had a professional team in the publishing house doing those blasted things and 2. they were published way before this extremely recent indie-publishing phenomenon, which is really only a couple of years old in its culture. I’ve basically turned my back on that aggressive culture and am just going to do what feels right.

    Anyway, sorry to vent here lol! But yeah, pre-publishing is ALL on you, people probably understand once you tell them. Congratulations on your book!

  2. I just keep telling myself all this stress will be worth it in the end!

Leave a Reply

