Why I Decided To Go Indie

It’s been quite a week.

I joked in my last blog that I wouldn’t disappear while I completed the formatting process.  I didn’t mean to, it just sort of, happened.

There’s good news though, everything is complete, and I did make it out the other side relatively unscathed.

Actually I’ll tell you a little secret.  In my other life, part of my job involves a lot of coding html for email marketing campaigns, maintaining websites, and optimising graphics etc.  Health issues are keeping me away from that life at the moment and I miss that aspect of my job like crazy, so working through the formatting for my book has been an absolute joy for me.

It’s not just that though, the whole concept of being an independent author, creating the entire book myself is so appealing to me.  It isn’t just a case of writing a manuscript and sending it off to someone to publish it for me, it is in many ways a business model (on a fairly small scale), a project which I have complete control over from the ground up.

Of course going independent isn’t for everyone, and it shouldn’t be, everyone is different and everyone has their own valid opinions.

It suits me though, and even if this project only ticks over at the rate of a loaf of bread a day it will still be considered a success to me.

Leave a Reply

